My First Sewing Class – and more embroidery patterns

Hello dear readers,

As promised, it is time I reveal my little secret from earlier this week to you: Today I took my first-ever sewing class at a cute little sewing cafe in Vienna. Well, not really a proper sewing class. It was more of a crash course in machine sewing. And it was very exciting. :)

As you know from my About page, I have never touched a sewing machine before. Honestly I was always a bit frightened of threading them and thought of them as little thread-eating monsters that make life harder. The first part, as I know now, is a myth. Threading the machine was easy once I understood what all those funny arrows meant. But the second bit still needs some puzzling out. This machine seemed to find the red thread very tasty. ;)

I must say that today changed my opinion on machine sewing. Somehow, I am not totally anti-modernism anymore. Yet it does not mean I will switch to it completely. Some of my friends call me “the human sewing machine” (no kidding) because my hand-sewn straight stitches are just as neat. And I do want to keep that reputation alive.

Yet the long inside seams of skirts are really testing my patience sometimes. Feeding them through a machine would really make life easier. Though, knowing myself, I would still do the visible outside seam of my French seams by hand. Another matter that has been on my mind, is whether my short stays would not become a little more durable if I did the main seams by machine instead of back-stitching them with quilting thread. Well, we will see what happens. I will make sure to keep you updated on this little adventure.

What else is new?

First of all, the blog’s wallpaper. Do you like it? I made it from an embroidery pattern published in Ackermann’s repository in January, 1826. How did I find it? This time it was not at the library, but on Google… I was really happy to finally find some late Regency muslin patterns on the web after all. On her blog, EK Duncan has put together all the embroidery patterns published in Repository from 1826-28. I hope you will enjoy them as much as I do right now. :)

Wishing you all a merry second advent weekend.

Nessa

 

Useful links:

EK Duncan’s blog featuring needlework patterns, fashion plates and historical artwork, not only from the Regency period.

Comment

