Liebster Award Part Two – The Q&A

While I was away working, the lovely Gwenyver has nominated me for my second Liebester Award. For those of you who have not heard of it: It is an award bloggers from all genres pass along to other bloggers they enjoy following. Usually the nominations go along with a set of questions asked by the nominating blogger.

And now it is about time to finally answer the great questions that came with Gwenyver’s nomination. They have made me think a little and I hope my answers will give you a little more insight into my love of historical costuming. So, please enjoy this short Q&A:

How did you get into costuming?

This is a tough one. Prepare for a longish story. ;) Okay, here goes:  the whole costuming enterprise started on a rainy winter afternoon about two years ago. I have always toyed around with the idea of sewing my own thing, since I was very young. Back then I sometimes sewed little dresses for my cuddly toys from old cloth handkerchiefs, but somehow it never stuck. Then, this one afternoon I got it into my head to just sew a historical dress. I googled around for hours and hours until I found an original pattern for a Victorian wrapper. Then I pretty much got the fabric, drafted a pattern and taught myself to sew.

The story went on during my exchange semester in Vienna. Here I discovered the most awesome fashion library ever. They carried original copies of Ackermann’s, Costume Parisienne and Wiener Moden-Zeitung from the Regency era. And the many trips there rekindled an old love. But I also got to look into some original Edwardian pattern books and I still have some of those patterns in my “want-to-do” pile. And that is how I got into costuming.

The Victorian wrapper pattern that started it all.

What is your favourite type of costumes? (Historical, Sci Fi, cosplay, Movie Recreation, Original Concept, Ethnic, etc.)

Historical all the way. At the moment I mainly work on Regency projects, some Edwardian patterns are in the planning and I have a soft spot for late Renaissance fashions.  Then I also own a few sets of Bavarian folk costume and hats. But, since my family is mainly Bavarian and Austrian, I do not regard those as costumes, more as proper wear. ;)

Sewing machine or hand sewing?

Originally, I sewed everything by hand and I still do that a lot. But last Christmas, I got my first sewing machine. And it really is faster to use it sometimes.

What is your preferred method of embellishment?

All kinds of embroidery. It does not have to be overly fancy, but I really am a sucker for it, as you can also see on the blog.

Do you wear any sort of physical modifier to complete your look when you are in costume? (wigs, coloured contacts, prosthetics, allover make-up, etc.)

Well, I do wear Regency stays under the dresses, to achieve the period silhouette.  Besides, they are also so much comfier than a bra, no kidding. As for wigs… I might have bought something that counts for one earlier this week. But this is still a bit of a secret. So shh…

Which costume are you unsatisfied with and wish you could redo?

That first wrapper is still sitting in the PHD pile. One day I will give it a proper makeover. And there is also a half-authentic Italian Renaissance dress in dire need of re-work.

Is there something costume related that you compulsively buy / hoard? (Patterns, fabric, jewelry, trims, etc)

I will answer this one with a picture:

(Found on sewdelcious.com.au)

If you could bring back one fashion trend from any time in human history, what would it be?

The Empire waistline; because it looks flattering on women of all shapes and sizes. :)

What skill would you like to learn/master next to improve your costuming?

Making needlepoint lace and also embroidering scalloped hems with period white-work.

Is there a costumer that you admire? Who are they?

I admire everyone who sews their own historical costumes, era notwithstanding. If I had to pick one, it would be The Dreamstress. I love her blogging style and the things she makes. And she also created the HSF, which has brought together an awesome crowd of historical sewers from all over the world. Without the fortnightly challenges, my historical sewing adventure would definitely not be the same.

Could you please share a funny costume related story?

It is not really a story; but my dad is my biggest fan. He has no background in historical costuming at all but has a very keen eye for shapings. So, whenever I show him a new gown and he politely tells me that it is not really flattering on the silhouette, I know that it fits exactly the way it should. We have a good laugh every time he does that.

And that was it already. Thank you again, Gwenyver. Your nomination has really flattered me. It is so wonderful and priceless to know that my beginner’s sewing blog is actually this enjoyable to readers out there. :)

 

Love, Nessa

P.S.: As this week has been pretty exciting in many ways, please look out for a little summary here very soon. It will also include quite a bit of sewing. ;)

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award Part Two – The Q&A

Comment

