The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

On Thursday night, my fellow blogger Crystal at Adventures in Bias Tape provided me with the most awesome surprise: A blog award! Even now, three days later, I am overjoyed to receive her nomination. As always, I am very, very happy when others like my blog and enjoy the things I write about as much as I do. But I am also thankful, since this award provides me with another chance to pass on the admiration those bloggers I love to follow. :)

Long story short: I want to thank Crystal a million times for giving me the “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award.” It is a great honor to place it here on my blog. :)

Now, to pass on the joy to the wonderful bloggers I follow. To off, here are the award rules:

1.Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site
2.Put the Award logo on your blog.
3.Answer the ten questions sent to you.
4.Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer
5.Nominate ten blogs.

And here are the ten blogs I would like to nominate for their amazing work:

My questions for you are the following. I am excited to hear your answers.  =)

  1. How long have you been blogging?
  2. What is / are your favorite topics to blog about?
  3. Do you have a favorite book and or author? And what do you love the most about them?
  4. Which is / are your favorite historical (sewing) periods?
  5. Do you have a piece of clothing in your wardrobe that you really love?
  6. Which sewing / crafting technique would you love to learn?
  7. If a time traveler offered to take you anywhere in time and space, where would you go?
  8. Describe your ideal dress fabric.
  9. Which is your most important sewing or crafting tool?
  10. Are you more of a lace or a ruffle person?

And now, it is my turn to answer Crystal’s questions *sharpens pencil*. I hope they will prove satisfactory. ;)

1. Why is your blog named what it is?
Most of all, the blog title says what I love doing: sewing and researching Empire-style fashion. That it could also refer to an actual empire of sewing is just a funny coincidence. I would never, ever dream of that. ;)

2. What made you decide to start blogging?

When I started blogging, I had been about a year (and two dresses) into recreating historical fashion. After researching online a lot, I knew that, in our special little costume community, blogs transport a great deal of the knowledge required to make beautiful period garments. Around that time, I was staying in Vienna and discovered the historical fashion library. That was the special moment that encouraged me to start contributing the things I learned  through my own blog.

3. What do you enjoy most about blogging?

That one is easy: Getting in touch with other bloggers and people who share the same interests, to enjoy, exchange and discover new ideas. And to drool over everyone’s gorgeous creations of course… :)

4. On average, how much time do you spend sewing?

It really depends on how busy daily life gets. But, on average, I would say between one and three days a week are dedicated to sewing and/or embroidery.

5. Of your favourite eras, do you prefer having patterns pre-made or making your own?

Given the time, I like to make my own or at least size up / alter period patterns to fit. With certain garments though, such as corsets *cough*, I prefer patterns and instructions made by more experienced folk. ;)

6. Speaking of favourite eras, which one is yours and why?

Actually, I have two at the moment: Regency/Empire and Edwardian.
Regency, because I adore the style of, light and gorgeous, high-waisted dresses and how the accessories, like underpinning and spencers, are created around this special style of dress.
Edwardian fashion I like because it is a fashion that is still pretty “recent” in historical terms. And because it has its own, adorable, way of playing on fashions that have gone before.

7. What is the most unconventional object used in a previous project? (Either in the making of, or actually in the item)

Hmm. I seem to be a rather conventional girl with what I put into the garments. The weirdest might have been a length of thick hemp rope, to weigh down the hem of my bodiced petticoat. But that might have been a
In the making department, the weirdest tool is my “bodkin”, which is actually a big no. 1 carpet needle which I got for a few cents at the craft store.

8. Describe your ideal sewing area.

A well-lit room with a big drafting and cutting table (not the floor), a neatly ordered fabric section and lots and lots of space for my historical wardrobe and patterns / pattern books.

9. Care to share your favourite sewing tip/trick?

Sure. I love to tie the ends of my hand-sewing threads into a quilter’s knot. It is the least fiddly knotting method and works well on all kinds of threads. If you have not heard of quilter’s knots before, you can out more in this tutorial.

10. Coffee or tea? Plain or doctored?

Tea at home and coffee when I’m out. I love both equally as well, but each has their time. And, I take a lot of milk with both of them. If you put sugar in either, though, I will scowl at you. ;)

Here you go. I hope my answers were not too lengthy. :) Now, I shall proudly attach the award badge to my sidebar. Receiving this blog award has been a wonderful thing and it has made this week so much better. I hope your week has been a good one as well and you can now enjoy the final hours of your weekend. I shall see you all soon, with a few corsetry updates. :)

Much love, Nessa

8 thoughts on “The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

Comment

