A Way To Start 2016 : Blog Awards !

Happy New Year once again! I hope everyone passed a pleasant New Year’s Eve. To begin the new year (and another year with the Historical Sew Monthly), a planning post would be in order. But, since my long-term planning usually combusts around Easter, I think I will go without it this year. ;)

Instead, I would like to spread some new year’s happiness. Last month, the wonderful Chelsea of A Sartorial Statement nominated the blog for a Liebster Award. Receiving another award nomination has left me overjoyed, since I am always happy when readers like what I post and I can share the joy with me. Now I would like to pass on the love to you and nominate some of the awesome blogs you write. :)

liebster-blog1

To start with, here are the award rules (usually I am no big fan of chain-mail kind of activities, but blog awards are the big exception):

1. Acknowledge the blog that nominated you.

2. Answer the questions the nominating blogger asked.

3. List 11 bloggers with less than 200 followers that deserve some recognition.

4. Write 11 questions for them to answer.

5. Notify them that they have been nominated.

 

Here are the questions Chelsea asked, and my answers.

1. Where is your favorite place in the world?
Oh, that is a tough one. But, offhand, I would say Vienna with its amazing old city palaces, coffee houses and fashion collection. Another beloved place where I go when I badly need to unwind and relax, is the huge garden of a nunnery near the Rhine where you can walk and get lost in beautiful nature for hours.

2. What has been your most challenging project, to date?
That would be my pair of Regency long stays. Despite the great instructions they came with, they really challenged my sewing skills. After finishing them though, it felt as though the project had hugely improved my sewing techniques. :)

3. What do you like most to do on a rainy Saturday when nothing else is planned?
Usually, I will go for a coffee and then write on a short story, get carried away on some embroidery or, sometimes, start a new sewing project on a whim. ;)

4. If you could travel to the past or the future, which would you choose?  How far in time would you go?
Hmm. I would say it would be the past for me and I would go back as far as the bronze age to learn more about the origins of human culture.

5. What is your favorite holiday tradition?
It is not really a “tradition” but, what I like most about the holidays is to get together and spend time with family or friends.

6. How do you motivate yourself when a particular project is difficult or tedious?
I put it aside for a while, but not long enough to become a proper UFO. Then I try to find some small rewards (like a nice dinner, some new fabric or a coffee)to get me going again. Although, the biggest reward is finishing the project and enjoying it. :)

7. Do you ever have a hard time explaining your hobby to strangers?  If so, how do you handle that?
Not really, no. Usually I just tell them why I like doing it so much and that does the job rather well. Another matter, though, is when the ladies at the fabric store ask what I am making… ;)

8. What is your most invaluable tool?
After the last hand-sewing adventures, I would say it is a good supply of beeswax to wax the threads/yarn.

9. What is your dream project?  Time and money are no object – what do you make?
An early 18th-century silk mantua. Should I ever marry my own Mr. Sharpe, making one as my wedding gown would be an absolute dream.

10. What is the last book you read?
“The Three Musketeers” by Alexandre Dumas.

11. What is your biggest guilty pleasure?  (Food, TV show, clothing item, etc.)
Other than fabric and embroidery yarn, it is BBC’s “The Musketeers” right now. It is the first TV show in a decade I absolutely went nuts about, and even wrote fan fiction on. The costumes may not always be at the height of accuracy, but I enjoy it a lot nonetheless. :)

 

Now it is time to nominate some of my favourite bloggers and their amazing work. Even though it is not my first round of nominations, I will never run out of really wonderful blogs, and people, to nominate. Here they are:

Laurie of Threads of My Life who blogs wonderfully about her beautiful creations and her adventures in costume.

Lydia of The Antique Sewist whose historical costume creations are absolutely gorgeous, or even breathtaking at times. :)

Hannah of Fabric & Fiction who mostly sews Regency attire, like me. I simply love her blog and the detail that goes into her work.

Hana of Marmota’s Dress Diary who is a very skilled seamstress and great blogger. I love her detailed research of historical garments and fashion history.

Beth of Beth’s Bobbins who writes about her sewing and other textile arts, but also about recreating historical hairstyles. I really enjoy following whatever she does/makes.

Gina of Beauty from Ashes whose costumes always look so perfect and whose blog is a lovely read every time.

Marlena Jane of By the Hush who blogs about her sewing and reenactment life with a twinkle in her eye. Both her posts and here costumes are just great.

Meg of Nutmeg Sews who makes absolutely beautiful historical costumes and blogs about her projects in a good amount of detail. Her blog is much fun to read.

Cassidy of A Most Beguiling Accomplishment who really knows her stuff and makes stunning costumes which she blogs about sharing many details. I also got her book “Regency Women’s Dress” not long ago and love it.

Jeannine of J-Nine Costumes whose blog and projects are simply great to look at and read about.

Bránn of Matsukaze Workshops who is a gentleman seamster (yes, that is a word) making all the historical garb he needs and I just love what he writes and does. There should be more enterprising young men like him in the sewing community. :)

 

And, last but not least, here are my questions for the nominees:

  1. What is your favourite fabric color / pattern you enjoy working with the most?

  2. What is your most favorite place / space (be it a room, building, holiday destination etc.)?

  3. Do you have a favorite TV show or movie? If yes, which?

  4. Is there something you like to collect (fabric, ribbons, buttons, cups etc.)?

  5. If you could travel to one of your sewing era(s), which one would you like to visit most? Is there a specific date/place you would go?

  6. What is your favorite novel / author?

  7. Do you have a favorite museum you would like to visit or go to visit time and again?

  8. Which is the absolute dream fabric or notion you would really like to work with, cost notwithstanding?

  9. Is there a new sewing or crafting skill you would like to learn this year?

  10. Which sewing / dressmaking task do you enjoy / eschew the most?

  11. Where is your favorite place to sew or craft?

Those are my questions. I hope you will be okay with answering them and am much looking forward to reading your answers. :)

 

To conclude this post, I would like to wish all of you a good, happy and healthy year 2016. May all your wishes and expectations come true.

Warmly, Nessa

 

Comment

