Regency Gown News

Last time I mentioned that I had some exciting news on the white drop-front Regency gown I am making. Here is the story: The gown was all planned, fabric set aside, measurements taken and pattern drawn. And then I went fabric shopping…

As fellow fabric addicts collectors, you will know what it is like when you have just decided which fabric to use for a project and then something  more delicious comes along, cancelling your previous plans. In my case, I had decided to go with the white cotton muslin I used for my 1920s teddies. Shamefully I have not yet posted about them. So here is a “teaser” pic that shows off the lovely, airy white cotton very well.

My !920s teddies, made from white cotton muslin.

But where there is lovely, there is always lovelier. ;) So, when I wandered into the fabric store, they had some woven pattern cottons on sale. One of them was a gorgeous white-on-white check muslin. Of course, I fell in love and had to buy it at once. It is even softer than my other choice of muslin and has just the right amount of translucency for a Regency gown. It looks a bit dense and bluish in the photo, but it is not.

The new muslin for the gown.

What do you think? Is it not yummy? When I found it, I was so glad I had decided to finish my smock first. Now, though, I have really thrown myself into the work for the gown, since I cannot wait to finally cut it out and see what it looks like. Today, I fitted the toile over my underpinnings. Here it is on my dress form. Next up is altering the pattern pieces to fit and … cutting out. Yippee!

The altered bodice toile on the dress form.

It feels so good to have more sewing time again. I also love to finally share project updates with you as they happen. Hopefully I will soon have news from the 17th-century sewing front as well. While the new Regency gown is coming together, I am also fervently planning away on my 1630s stays. At the moment I am feeling like a historical sewing newbie once more, slightly confused and ogling all the pretty period costumes with big puppy eyes. But that is a good sign, right?

Love, Nessa

2 thoughts on “Regency Gown News

    • Nessa says:

      Hello Paula! Most often I take frequent trips to a local department store and look for period appropriate fabrics. Sometimes I get lucky but it does not happen too often. Basic cottons like the muslin in this post and cotton voile I buy at a Scandinavian store called Stoff & Stil. Since I live in Europe, I also try to go to France about once a year. There I shop at small “merceries” for notions and lace. I also like a fabric chain called “Toto”. You can find them in every bigger city. Their stores are a bit of a jumble sometimes but have a nice selection of natural fibre fabrics. Sadly I cannot really give you suggestions for shops in the US if you were interested in these. But both WM Booth Draper and Dharma Trading have been recommended by American costuming friends as reliable sources of appropriate fabrics many times. I hope this helps.
      Love, Nessa

Comment

