Top Tips for Handsewing Needles (CoBloWriMo Day 13)

Today’s CoBloWriMo prompt is “Top Tips”.

In their posts,Thedementedfairy,  Kitty Calash and Cassidy have pointed out how important handsewing and using the right materials is to achieve the best possible results. My tips are an addition to all the great handsewing advice they have already given.

Being a stickler for always using the suitable needles for each task, I have compiled some points on those pointy things for you. ;)

As someone who primarily hand-sews, I find that proper control over the needle is one of the most important things. To get it, I use the smallest, sharpest needles I can find, namely quilting “betweens”. 

Quilting betweens, sizes no. 7 & 9.

Betweens are shorter than modern standard needles. This brings them closer to historical handsewing needles which were often on the shortish side. Recently I found someone who was totally stumped at people using 1″ long needles for sewing. To be fair, it takes practice and threading them can be fiddly. 

Thus it is best to start with a slightly bigger size, like a no. 7, and to go down as you are feeling comfortable with it. I am now on a no. 9, which is the smallest size I can source locally. On the long run, downsizing is well worth it. I especially notice the difference when sewing invisible stitches, whipped gathers or tiny rolled hems. They turn out much nicer as the stitching becomes smaller and finer.

Another thing I find important is to toss your needles and take new ones regularly. On average, I do this after every second or third project. When sewing with silk or extra fine voile, I automatically take a fresh needle, just to be on the safe side.

If you are unsure if a needle is still good, pass the point over your trouser leg (or skirt ;) ) at an angle. If it scratches or snags, the needle is a goner. You can do the same with machine needles, to be sure you do not get holes in the fabric or a sewing machine on strike.

I hope these tips are no old news to you and will help you a little with your sewing. :)

Love, Nessa

6 thoughts on “Top Tips for Handsewing Needles (CoBloWriMo Day 13)

  1. Brann mac Finnchad says:

    I could try it, but tend to chose my needles by “smallest eye I can easily thread with that particular thread”, and do tend towards longer ones…as a guy, the tiny needles you recommend tend to disappear in my fingers. Either the tip is hidden…so you can’t take a stitch…or the eye end is, which renders the thimble pointless.

    I really should replace them more, though…I’m bad about that; although, to be fair, I usually work in heavier materials.

    • Nessa says:

      That sounds like a good strategy, too. With bigger hands a bigger needle will definitely give you better control. Though I know of one gentleman with large hands who uses number 9 needles. It’s a marvel how he does it, sort of juggling them between his fingertips.

      And I sometimes have to kick myself to change them, too. They still seem too good to throw away. Though after too many snags and holes, I am always swapping them out when working with silks now.

Comment

