Pins Pins Pins

Pins are a real sewing staple. We use them very, very often and still hardly talk about them. This why I want to write about them today.
Lately I have been working on a few different sewing projects. And I realized that I have been using many different pins for them. So I thought I would give you a little “tour” of my pin collection and tell you a bit about which ones I use for which sewing tasks. Perhaps you are using you can find a new pinning idea for your sewing in this post. :)

My pin collection (left to right): Standard steel pin, veil pin, glass head pin, fiberglass pin.

Steel pins are my tiny workhorses. I use them to hold together most standard fabrics, such as (poly-)cotton or wool. When in costume, I also use them as dress pins, to secure the layers on top of my stays. Although some people worry that they might prick themselves, I have never had that problem. My trick is to pass them in out of the fabric a few times, as if I was sewing with them. Then I make sure the pointy end comes out on top and everything is fine. The two things that annoy me about steel pins are that they bend easily and that they seem to get dull more quickly than other pins. Of all the pins I use, I have to replace these most often.Glass head pins are my new love. I only bought my first pack last month. Since then, I have mostly used them in stay-making and to fit mock-ups. They stay in place more reliably than average steel pins. I also find that they iron better and I iron over my pins a lot. The only downside I see at the moment is that they do not pick up so easily. Sometimes when I try to pinch the head between my fingers, the pin literally jumps to the other side of the room. Besides, good-quality glass head pins are not really cheap. Which is why I only got mine now… but it was a good investment!

Fiberglass pins are what I use to pin silk or other fine fabrics, such as sateen or voile. They slide in and out easily; sometimes even too easily. Also, they never get dull. But you do not usually find these pins in many places. I got mine at a store selling all kinds of novelty items. You might have to search around quite a bit to find a seller that carries them. I really wished more places would sell these cool little things.

Veil pins are basically 3″ long mini hatpins. And that is how I use them. When working on millinery projects, they are great for holding the hat/bonnet base on the styrofoam head. Of course you can also use them as decorative pins on mantles, cloaks or veils, as the name suggests. ;)

Another, amazing, thing I discovered recently are wonder clips. Once upon a time, they were mostly known to quilters. Now more and more sewers are discovering them. It took some time for them to come to Europe, now we can even buy more affordable no-name clips. They work just as well as the Clover ones. Recently I have used them when binding my stays. It was much easier than sticking in a pin every half inch or so.

Binding the 17th-century stays with wonder clips … and pins ;).

And this concludes the brief tour around the pin collection. Now I am curious about your sewing and costuming experiences with different pins. Looking forward to hearing from you!

Love, Nessa

4 thoughts on “Pins Pins Pins

  1. Daya Dika says:

    I like your article on pins .In fact I use all different types of pins but I found using wonder clips for bias binding is very useful tip as I always had difficulty in getting top and bottom part of bias binding sewing in one single seam.
    Thank you for sharing tips.

    • Nessa says:

      Thank you very much for your comment. I am glad you liked the tips! Wonder clips are great when sewing on back edge of bias binding because they keep it folded over neatly and it does not slip away so easily.

  2. Kara says:

    I love reading about how other sewers use their tools. I don’t like the regualr steel pins. The heads are too small for me, and I’m afraid of loosing them in the fabric and forgetting to take them out. The glass head pins are nice, but I usully buy the plastic head ones, since they are cheaper.
    I also found the the wonder clips last year. I often forget to use them, but I love them when I do. Especially if I have several layers going together.

    • Nessa says:

      Glad you enjoyed reading about how I use mine! I know where you are coming from. When wearing a piece for the first time, I sometimes find forgotten steel pin in them for real. Whoops! Though I keep using them since I have a bad track record of ironing over plastic head pins. Though I think that will change now the glass ones are here.
      And wonder clips are so great, aren’t they? Just used them again today and like them more every time. :)

Comment

